Imo Speaker, 7 other lawmakers defect to APC

The Speaker of Imo State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Chiji Collins, alongside seven other members from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, have defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress.

DAILY POST gathered that Chiji, who made the announcement at the floor of the House on Tuesday during plenary, said that all letters of defection from members have been forwarded to the Assembly clerk, Mrs. Chinelo Emeghara.

Members, who defected included Uche Ogbuagu of Ikeduru state constituency, Eddy Obinna for Aboh-mbaise, Kennedy Ibeh of Obowo, Crown Onyemaechi Njoku of Ihitte-Uboma, Kanayo Onyemaechi of Owerri west, Chiagozie Nwaneri of Oru-east, Dominic Ezerioha of Oru-west and the speaker who represents Isiala-Mbano state constituency.

Recall that last week Tuesday, nine lawmakers from Action Alliance (AA), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) also defected to the All Progressives Congress, making it a total number of seventeen.

By this statistics, DAILYPOST can authoritatively report that ten members out of the 27 are left to do the opposition job.

Political analysts are of the view that members already defected to the ruling APC did so to seek for refuge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *