CcHUB unveils Nyota, showcases Africa’s top tech pioneers

Co-creation Hub (CcHUB) has unveiled ‘Nyota’, a unique African augmented reality art experience, to showcase and celebrate 24 of the continent’s technology pioneers in Nairobi, Kenya on Thursday.

Details: At the event, Africa’s tech pioneers were celebrated for having contributed immense value to the growth of the innovation and technology ecosystem on the continent, as they were presented with art pieces of their images.

Chief Executive Officer, CcHUB, Bosun Tijani, explained that the art pieces were curated by CcHUB and designed by Mayowa Alabi.

He stated that the pieces were created using digital illustration, which comes to life when viewed through an augmented reality app called ‘Artivive’, and placed over the piece in order to enhance it and create new dimensions of the art as viewers will also download information about the subject’s journey in the tech world.

Tijani said, “Technology is Africa’s fourth industrial revolution, as it powers and impacts lives of millions. There are a number of personalities from across the continent, who have been integral to promoting the technology-at-scale agenda in Africa.  

“Nyota is a recognition of these tech leaders, and we are thrilled to be celebrating their work through this incredible augmented reality exhibition. Those included have come up from the trenches; they have paved the way for others in a sector still in its relative infancy, albeit one that is making a massive impact on how Africa operates.”  

He added that Nyota is a marker celebrating all that Africa’s technology sector has achieved to date, whilst recognising how much more there is to do.

The Pioneers: The exhibition features 24 of Africa’s tech trailblazers that have paved the way for African tech as we know it. Other tech leaders are Erik Hersman (BRCK), Rebecca Wanjiku (Fireside Communications), Ory Okolloh (Omidyar Networks), Juliana Rotich, Bitange Ndemo (UoN), Dorcas Muthoni (Openworld Ltd.), Gustav Praekelt (Praekelt Group), Strive Masiyiwa (Econet Wireless), Rebecca Enonchong (AppsTech), Nadu  Denloye (Telnet Nigeria Ltd.), and Tomi Davies (TVCLabs).

Others are Funke Opeke (Main One Cable), Iyin Aboyeji (An African Future), Mitchell Elegbe (Interswitch), Jason Njoku (CEO of iROKO), Sim Shagaya (Konga), Barbara Birungi (HiveColab), Omar Cisse (InTouch), Emeka Afigbo (Facebook), David Kobia (Lab1886), Estelle Akofio Sowah (CSquared), Ehi Binite (ClearSpace Labs Ltd.), Lucy Quist (Morgan Stanley London), and Herman Chinery-Hesse (theSofttribe).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.